Header Ads

CSAT Exam Pattern 2017 CSAT Eligibility Criteria ( Age Limit, Qualification)


CSAT Exam Pattern

CSAT Exam Pattern 2017: Candidates who are planning to prepare for CSAT Exam; first they should know CSAT Exam Pattern.
Union Public Service Commission conducts CSAT Exam every year for selection to Civil Services or IFS Positions. Candidates who are going to prepare for exam can get the latest UPSC CSAT Paper Pattern through this page and follow it. You can also download the CSAT Eligibility Criteria (Age Limit, Qualification) from official site through online mode.

This Page Includes:
  • UPSC CSAT Exam Pattern
  • UPSC CSAT Eligibility Criteria
  • CSAT No of Attempts
CSAT Exam Pattern
Civil Services Examination is conducted in 2 stages- Preliminary Exam and Main Exam. The Preliminary Examination will be held in August, and the main examination will be held in the month of December every year. Contenders can gather more details regarding CSAT Paper Pattern from the stated below page which is well modified by the team members of privatejobshub.in

CSAT Exam Pattern

The Civil Services Aptitude Test comprises two exams such as:
  • Preliminary Examination
  • Main Examination
CSAT Preliminary Exam Pattern

Preliminary Exam Pattern:
  • There are 2 necessary papers in preliminary exam- General Ability Test (GAT) and Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) to test the analytical skills of candidates.
  • These 2 papers are of objective in nature with MCQ type questions.
  • There will be deduction of marks of 1/4th for each wrong answer.
  • The question paper is available in Hindi & English language (except the section of English Language Comprehension).
  • The General Studies Paper II, minimum qualifying marks is 33%.
  • The candidates will be selected on the basis of total qualifying marks of General Studies Paper I.
Serial No.
Name of Paper
Allotted marks
Paper I
General Ability Test
200 marks
Paper II
English Language & aptitude
200 marks
400 marks

Check New Pre/Main Pattern, Syllabus, Model Paper: UPSC CSAT Syllabus

CSAT Main Exam Pattern

Main Exam Pattern:
  • In Main Exam, there will be 2 papers in the examination- qualifying papers & papers to be counted for merit formation.
  • Candidates will have to appear in both the Parts.
  • Failing in the qualifying papers will lead to the cancelling of the candidates’ candidature.
  • There will be total 7 papers in Civil Services Main examination of 250 marks each.
  • There will be 2 optional papers that applicants have to choose as per their choice. You can check the detailed list of subjects from the official website of UPSC.
Qualifying Papers:
  • Paper A- One of the Indian language to be selected by candidates from the languages included in 6th schedule of the constitution- 300 marks.
  • Paper B- English- 300 marks 
Papers which are counted for merit calculation:

Sr. No.
Title of the paper
Marks allotted
Paper I
Essay writing
Paper II
General studies- I )Indian heritage & culture, history & geography of the world & society)
Paper III
General studies- II (Governance, constitution Polity, social justice & international & international relations)
Paper IV
General studies- III (Technology, economic development, bio-diversity, environment, security & disaster mgmt.)
Paper V
General studies- IV (Ethics, integrity & aptitude)
Paper VI
Optional subject- Paper I
Paper VII
Optional subjects- paper II
Subtotal in Written Exam
Personal Interview
Grand Total (For Merit Calculation)

List of the Optional Subjects for Main Examination:

Political science & International relations
Commerce & accountancy
Mechanical engineering
Public administration
Electrical engineering
Medical science
Animal husbandry & veterinary science
Civil engineering

Also Check Out Here: UPSC Previous Question Papers

CSAT Eligibility Criteria
  • Nationality: Candidates should be the citizens of India for the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service.
  • CSAT Age Limit: Age of candidates should not be less than 21 years and not more than 32 years. (In case of candidates belonging to SC/ ST category, the upper age limit is relaxable up to five years. In case of OBC candidates, the upper age limit is relaxable up to three years).
Upper age limit
32 Years
35 Years
37 Years
PH (Blind, Deaf, Orthopedic)
42 Years
J & K Domicile
GEN=37 Yrs, OBC= 40 Yrs, SC/ST=40 Yrs, PH=50 Yrs
Disabled servicemen, disabled from duty.
GEN=37 Yrs, OBC=40 Yrs, SC/ST=40 Yrs.

CSAT Qualification: Candidates should possess Degree of any of the universities incorporated by an Act of the Central or state legislature in India or other educational institutions established by an Act of Parliament.

Number of Attempts: You can apply to a maximum of 6 times. The candidates belonging to OBC category can apply for a total of nine times. This restriction on the number of attempts will not apply in case of Scheduled Caste and Schedule Tribe candidates.

Check Complete Details: UPSC Eligibility Criteria

Candidates may get the complete CSAT Exam Pattern 2017 through this page and if you want to know more about the same then keep visiting our web portal that is privatejobshub.in on regular basis or subscribe our free email service to remain updated via email. You can also follow on Facebook and Google+ and you can also bookmark the web portal by pressing Ctr+D option. 

Have a look on Below Links

No comments

Don't Add Comment with Spam Purpose

Powered by Blogger.