Header Ads

IAS Eligibility Criteria 2018 Civil Services Exam Age, Qualifications


IAS Eligibility Criteria

IAS Eligibility Criteria 2018: Contender who dreams to become IAS officers may check here complete details about IAS Eligibility Criteria!! Civil Services Written Examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) to recruit the suitable candidates for the post of IAS, IPS, IFS and more. Those aspirants who are preparing for UPSC IAS exam to grab the reputed position of Indian Administrative Services Officers, they are advised to go through the complete information about IAS Eligibility Criteria 2018 such as minimum educational qualification, age etc from the below section.

Competitors who want to serve their country as an Indian Administrative Service, firstly they must ensure that they fulfill the eligibility criteria or not. Applicants have to face Interview/ Personality Test if they want to fulfill their dreams. So, we are providing complete details about IAS Eligibility Criteria so that aspirants can get complete information through this page. The entire information is provided by our dedicated team of www.privatejobshub.in so have a look on entire page to get complete info.

Complete Information: IAS Application Form

IAS Eligibility Criteria

Providing Complete Information about:
  • Nationality
  • Age Limit
  • Minimum Educational Qualifications
  • Number of Attempts
  • Restrictions on applying for the Examination
  • Physical Standards
What should be the Nationality?
  • For the IAS (Indian Administrative Service) and the Indian Police Service (IPS), a candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For other services, a candidate must be either:
  • a citizen of India, or
  • a subject of Nepal, or
  • a subject of Bhutan, or
  • a Tibetan refugee who came over to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanently settling in India, or
  • a person of Indian origin who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanently settling in India.
  • Provided that a candidate belonging to categories (b), (c), (d) and (e) shall be a person in whose favour a certificate of eligibility has been issued by the Government of India.
Check Here: How to Become an IAS Officer

Essential Educational Qualification:
  • Aspirants must have Bachelor’s Degree in relevant discipline from the recognized University/Institution. 
  • Candidates who are in the final year examination or waiting for their final year result may apply for Civil Services Preliminary Examination. But candidates must have to produce final result for appear in Civil Services Main Examination. 
  • Students possessing professional/ technical qualifications which are recognized by Govt. as equivalent to professional and technical degree may also apply for the exam. 
  • In case if a contenders, who have passed the final professional MBBS or other Medical Examination but have not completed their internship by the time of submission of their applications for Civil Services (Main) Examination, will be provisionally admitted to the Examination. But is such case the candidates are required to produce original Degree or a certificate from the concerned competent authority of the University / Institution at the time of interview.

What is the age Criteria?

UPSC IAS Age Limit: Age limit of applying candidate should not be less than 21 years and should not be more than 32 years as on 1st July of the year of examination.

Age Relaxations:

Age relaxations will be given to some reserved categories like SC / ST / OBC. So here we are providing you information about age relaxations. So look on below this page.

Category Name
Max Age In Years
32 Years
Other Backwards Castes (OBC)
35 Years
Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribe (SC / ST)
37 Years
Jammu & Kashmir Domicile
General: 37 years
OBC: 40 Years
SC/ST: 42 Years
PH: 50 years
Physically disabled candidates (Blind, Deaf-Mute, orthopedic)
42 Years
Disabled servicemen disabled from duty
General: 37 years
OBC: 38 Years
SC/ST: 40 Years

How many Numbers of Attempts for candidates?

Here we are providing UPSC IAS No Of Attempts for candidates according to category wise. So, look on the below section.

Category Name
Number of Attempts Allowed
  06 Attempts
Other Backwards Castes (OBC)
  09 Attempts
Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribe (SC / ST)
  Till the Age limit
Jammu & Kashmir Domicile
  Up to the age limit
Physically disabled candidates (Blind, Deaf-Mute, orthopedic)
General and OBC Candidates: 09 attempts
SC/ST Candidates: Unlimited till age limit
Disabled servicemen disabled from duty
  Up to the Age limit

Restrictions on applying for the Examination:
  • A contender, who are the earlier member of Indian Administrative Service or the Indian Foreign Service and continues that membership, will not be eligible to apply for this examination.
  • In case if a candidate passes the preliminary examination of civil services but not attempt the main exam, can not apply.

What are the Physical Standards?

Competitors must be physically fit as per the physical standards for admission to Civil Services Examination of a particular year (as per guidelines given in Rules for Examination published in the Gazette of India Extraordinary during the year of examination).

Roles and Responsibilities of IAS Officers:
  • Handles the central affairs that include formulation and implementation of policies with the agreement of related minister.
  • When policies are being implemented they undertake the responsibility and distribute the required funds by keeping an eye on it
  • If they violate any rule they are liable to answer the Parliament and State Legislatures
  • Generally in the beginning IAS officers joins at the state administration at the sub-divisional level, resuming their services as sub-divisional magistrates, and look after law and order, general administration and development work, but there functions varies at different level.
  • Among all the posts, the designation District Magistrate (DM), District Collector or Deputy Commissioner are termed to be the highly reputed profile of IAS officers.
  • They mainly deals with the affairs of particular district and develop programmes to implement.
  • Those who become IAS officers they can be hired for the post for State Secretariat or for the positions of Heads in Public Sector Undertakings Departments.
  • IAS officers are who serve at the Centres are places as Cabinet Secretaries, Secretaries/Additional Secretaries, Joint Secretaries, Directors, Deputy Secretaries and Under Secretaries. However the designation changes on the basis of seniority.
  • They looks over the matters of instance, finance, commerce, etc and the decision take by the concerned cabinet minister are final for formulation.
Hope the Information we are providing in above section related to IAS Eligibility Criteria 2018 will beneficial for you all. Candidates who have a dream to become an IAS may get complete info through above section of this page. Candidates if you want to get any latest information than you can subscribe our free email services and obtain info directly on your email inbox. You can also join us on Facebook and Google Plus and obtain info directly on your timeline.

No comments

Don't Add Comment with Spam Purpose

Powered by Blogger.